Professor Xin Zhou won the second National Innovation Award

time:   2020-06-05 00:00    hits:5332

On May 30, the second national innovation award recognition and award conference was held in Beijing, and Professor Xin Zhou of the ultra sensitive magnetic resonance group won the second national innovation award.

Professor Xin Zhou is an outstanding young and middle-aged scientist in the field of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) science and technology, and the head of the innovative research group of the NSFC. He led his team to successfully develop a human lung gas MRI instrument to "light up" the blind area of the lung, and solved the challenge of traditional MRI in imaging lung cavities. The results were selected into 12 representative achievements on display at the 25th anniversary forum of distinguished young people presided over by Premier Li Keqiang, and was listed as the only typical case of " Demand traction, breakthrough bottleneck" by the medical department of the NSFC. Since the outbreak of the COVID-19 disease at the beginning of this year, Xin Zhou has led his team to Wuhan Tongji Hospital and Jin Yin Tan Hospital, and has used the MRI instrument of human lung gas in the research of COVID-19 disease for epidemic prevention, and accurately measured the function of pulmonary ventilation and blood gas exchange (CT clinical images can not be obtained), for been providing technical support for the fight against COVID-19 disease.

"National Innovation Award" is another important science and technology award approved by the state after the National Natural Science Award, National Technological Invention Award and national science and technology progress award. It is a science and technology talent award second only to the highest national science and technology award. The award is mainly awarded to the scientific and technological researchers and collectives who have made outstanding achievements in Innovation and action every 3 years. Among 1344 outstanding scientific and technological workers and 240 scientific research teams, 10 medal winning teams, 28 medal winners and 258 certificate winners were selected for this award. The winners of the national innovation prize are outstanding representatives of the masses of scientific and technological workers and innovation teams in China, and they are also the pioneers and leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the construction of a powerful country in science and technology in the world.